Clarksdale High School Class of 1985 Awards Annual Scholarships to Deserving Seniors


By Tana P. Vassel | May 27, 2024

Clarksdale, Mississippi – For the sixth consecutive year, members of the Clarksdale High School (CHS) Class of 1985 have awarded scholarships to deserving seniors at the high school. The CHS Class of ’85 Memorial Scholarship, established in 2019 to honor lost classmates, continues to make a significant impact on the community.

This year’s scholarships were awarded in memory of Anthony Calvin, Stanley Clark, and Andrew Stasher, classmates who passed away over the last year. The scholarship aims to recognize graduating seniors who have persevered in the face of adversity and succeeded academically. Applicants are evaluated based on their school performance, extracurricular activities, and a written essay. Winners are then selected by members of the scholarship committee.

At this year’s awards brunch, five seniors were awarded $1,000 each for college. The presentation was made by Marvin Reddick, a founder of the scholarship; Tana P. Vassel, a founder and committee treasurer; and Sean Joyner, Tracey Hawes Bailey, and Melissa Howard, all members of the Class of 1985 and donors to the scholarship fund. Additionally, the committee hosted a meal for the entire senior class in the fall of 2023.

The Class of 1985 will celebrate its 40th reunion in 2025, aiming to reach a fundraising goal of $10,000 to support even more students with scholarships. Kudos to the CHS Class of 1985 for their continuous generosity, encouragement, and support for these bright students.

Pictured below are this year’s scholarship winners with representatives from the Class of 1985 (left to right): Marvin Reddick, Tana P. Vassel, Kamron Pittman (winner), Kailynn Pittman (winner), Melissa Howard, Morgan Dixon (winner), Sean Joyner, Patrick Johnson (winner), Tracey Hawes Bailey, and Sha’Juan Roberts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here