Wilson wins Chancery Clerk nomination, Will Young wins District 5 Supervisor nomination; Both candidates advance to general election



By Josh Troy
Clarksdale Advocate

It was just a 15.49% voter turnout for two Democratic Primary runoffs in Coahoma County on Aug. 29, but that was enough to determine the nominees for the general election on Nov. 7.

Sherita Wilson is the Democratic nominee for Chancery Clerk after defeating Venesia Griffin Brown in the runoff. Wilson received 1,106 (58%) votes, while Griffin Brown received 809 (42%) votes.

Wilson will be facing independent candidates Maria Schneider and Tasheena Galmore in the general election. Wilson and Schneider are currently employees in the Chancery Clerk office. Current Chancery Clerk Carolyn Parham is retiring at the end of the term.

Will Young earned the Democratic nomination for the District 5 Supervisor position by defeating incumbent Roosevelt Lee in the runoff. Young, a Supervisor from 2016 to 2019, earned 312 (62%) votes, while Lee secured 192 (38%) votes. Will Young will be facing independent candidate Tony Young in the general election.

Wilson was at the courthouse when the results came in. “I am feeling so wonderful,” said Wilson after learning she was the Democratic nominee. “I want to thank everybody who voted for me. I love you all, my supporters. I love you all and thank you all so very, very much. This doesn’t stop here. We’ve got to keep going. Please come back out on Nov. 7 and do it again.”

Will Young’s wife, Dawn, expressed her gratitude to the voters on Facebook the next morning. “Will and I would like to express our appreciation for all the support while running for Supervisor for District 5!” Dawn Young said. “Without the support from our community, friends, and family, he would not have been able to win this runoff election!! Many people helped out in so many ways that we can never thank them enough. It may have been just a kind word spoken about him, a phone call to remind a friend to go vote, or even a ride to the polls. All this is the advantage of living in a small community that ALWAYS pulls together when needed! Thanks again for your support!! Will has one more independent candidate to beat in the General Election on Tuesday, November 7, 2023. We ask for your continued support and vote in this final election.”

There were just 1,936 voters in Tuesday’s runoff, meaning a total of 15.48% of the eligible voters turned out. All 1,936 voters participated in the Chancery Clerk election. In the Democratic Primary on Aug. 8, a total of 4,121 voters participated in the Chancery Clerk election. Griffin Brown earned 1,923 (47%) votes on Aug. 8, Wilson secured 1,409 (34%) votes, and Tarra Rhymes Slack finished with 789 (19%) votes. Wilson and Griffin Brown advanced to the runoff. Wilson won the runoff and nomination with 1,106 (58%) votes to advance to the general election.

A total of 506 voters cast a ballot in the District 5 Supervisor race in the runoff. However, there were 820 voters for the same race in the Democratic Primary on Aug. 8. Will Young earned the most votes on Aug. 8 with 345 (42%), Lee came in second with 188 (23%), Shirley Fair finished with 163 (20%), and Mary Frances Dear-Moton finished with 124 (15%). Will Young and Lee competed in the runoff. Will Young won the nomination with 312 (62%) votes to advance to the general election.

Circuit Clerk Demetria Jackson encouraged more voters to come out for the general election. “The general election is November the 7th,” she said. “We encourage everybody to please come out and vote. We have some independent candidates who will be on the general election in November. We encourage everybody to please come out on Nov. 7 and cast your vote for your candidates.”

The Coahoma County Sheriff will also be determined in the general election. Democrat Mario Magsby will be going against independent Stacy Lester. Magsby earned the Democratic nomination by defeating incumbent Charles Jones. Statewide races, including for Governor and Lieutenant Governor, will be on the ballot in the general election. Brandon Presley, the Public Service Commissioner for the Northern District of Mississippi, is the Democratic nominee for Governor. Incumbent Tate Reeves is the Republican nominee. Incumbent Delbert Hosemann is the Republican nominee for Lieutenant Governor and D. Ryan Grover is the Democratic nominee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here