38 New Members Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society



Clarksdale, Mississippi – On Wednesday, March 27, 2024, the Spring 2024 induction ceremony for the Alpha Omicron Pi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) took place in the Pinnacle. During the event, 38 individuals were recognized and welcomed into the honor society.

PTK, founded on the Coahoma Community College (CCC) campus in the fall of 1988, has been actively serving the college community for almost three decades. As the largest honor society in higher education, with 1,350 chapters at two-year colleges worldwide, Phi Theta Kappa is dedicated to acknowledging and fostering academic excellence among students in two-year colleges.

To commence the ceremony, PTK Vice President Devin Mabry extended a greeting, followed by an invocation delivered by Selina Clay, PTK Reporter, and an occasion address by Niya Harris, a PTK member.

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society ceremony followed the acknowledgment of individuals who met specific criteria: completion of 15 semester hours at Coahoma, maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above, and demonstrating impeccable conduct and character.

Tre’Shawn Malone, the Graduation Coach at Clarksdale High School, delivered the keynote address.

Malone, hailing from Jonestown, Mississippi, boasts a considerable tenure in the field of education. He is a graduate of both Coahoma Agriculture High School and Coahoma Community College. Malone earned his bachelor’s degree in English from Delta State University, where he also completed his master’s degree.

He kicked off his speech by talking about comfort zones, something every college student can relate to.

“Life’s journey really does begin and end within those zones we’re comfortable in. But here’s the thing: if we stay snug in that comfort, we’re not going to tap into our full potential,” said Malone. “The power to shift our mindset lies within us, and that’s what can turn our biggest dreams into reality.” Sure, there’ll be hurdles along the way, but changing how we think and building confidence means we’re growing and moving forward.”

“As you navigate through your college journey, you’ll find that as you grow and develop, so will the opportunities around you. It’s up to you to seize them,” said Malone. “Sure, you’ll encounter challenges along the way, but it’s those challenges that push you to grow and expand your horizons.”

Malone concluded his speech by encouraging students that their potential extends far beyond their comfort zone. It’s when they step outside of what’s familiar to them is when they will discover what they’re capable of achieving. Students cannot be afraid to take risks and try new things because that’s where the magic happens.

The Phi Theta Kappa scholars transitioned into their new roles as honored society members by gracefully walking across the stage to receive their certificates as Malundra Jones, the PTK president, offered special recognition and words of encouragement to each inductee as they embarked on this new chapter of their academic journey.

Wrapping up the ceremony, Dr. Valmadge T. Towner, CCC President, extended his congratulations to the inductees and expressed gratitude to several essential members of the CCC community.

“I want to take a moment to reflect on the significance of this occasion. Each one of you, the inductees, has demonstrated exceptional dedication to academic excellence and service, embodying the values that Phi Theta Kappa stands for,” said Towner.

“As you move forward, remember the importance of lifelong learning and the power of collaboration. Stay curious, remain humble, and never underestimate the impact you can have on the world around you,” said Towner.

To see more information about Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at CCC, please visit: https://www.coahomacc.edu/ptk/

Phi Theta Kappa Spring 2024 Inductees:

Summer Alnagger

Shirley Bell

De’Jour Belin

Tyrome Brown

Faith Butler

Saniya Clay

Kazareon Davis

Sharia Davis

Fred Dumas

Ra’Kyaha Ealy-Hawkins

Brenda Escudero-Simon

Jamari Gladney

Jeremiah Harris

Orlandria Harris

Terrionne Hinton

Jadaijah Hudson

Kimmiaya Hudson

Elijah Johnson

Jordyn Johnson

Kytadominique Kemp

Abriana Lewis

Jordan McDaniel

Debbie Molina

Markayla Moore

Jonathan Noudjihidi

Takesia Perkins

Shinka Pride

Kamaria Roberson

Alyssa Robinson

Faren Roby

Reginald Rodges

Cimmion Ross

Kaylin Ross

Davion Sampson

Destiny Shaw

Shamereya Taylor

J’Terrica Trotter

Charles Williams


For Media Inquiries, Contact:

Jasalyn K. Lucas

Communication Specialist



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here