Celebrating Excellence: The Hoss Bennett Awards 2023-2024


By Tom Williams | March 8, 2024

Clarksdale, Mississippi – In a night filled with excitement, camaraderie, and celebration, the annual Hoss Bennett Awards once again took center stage, honoring the brightest talents in high school football in Coahoma County, Mississippi. This year’s ceremony, held at the Pinnacle Building of Coahoma Community College, marked the 26th iteration of this esteemed event, paying tribute to the dedication and achievements of standout student-athletes.

The pinnacle of the evening was the announcement of the recipient of the 2023-2024 Ronald Hoss Bennett Award and Scholarship. This prestigious honor was bestowed upon William Walker of Lee Academy. Walker’s stellar performance on the field, exemplary leadership, and academic prowess distinguished him as the epitome of excellence among his peers.

Alongside Walker, other standout athletes were recognized for their outstanding contributions to their respective schools. Harlem Bell of Coahoma County High School (CCHS), Patrick Broomfield of Clarksdale High School (CHS), and Will Moser of Lee Academy stood out as exemplary representatives of their schools, showcasing exceptional skill, determination, and sportsmanship throughout the season.

The evening was further enriched by the presence of guest speaker Keith Fulcher from the Community Foundation of Northwest Mississippi. Fulcher’s inspiring words resonated with attendees, underscoring the importance of hard work, perseverance, and community support in achieving success both on and off the field. His message served as a source of motivation for the aspiring young athletes in attendance, reminding them of the limitless possibilities that await those who dare to dream big and work tirelessly to turn those dreams into reality.

Before the announcement of the overall winner, nominees from each participating high school were acknowledged for their outstanding performances. For Coahoma County High School (CCHS), Devonte Boyd and Jerasmus Eagins were recognized for their exceptional contributions. Lee Academy nominated Russell “Tanner” Fava and William Walker. Clarksdale High School (CHS) nominated Kyle Coleman and Kebian Gilmore, showcasing the depth of talent and dedication present across the county’s football programs.

Indeed, these young men have showcased remarkable talent on the football field and exemplified the values of sportsmanship, teamwork, and dedication central to the game’s spirit. Their achievements are a source of pride for their schools, coaches, families, and the entire community.

As the ceremony drew to a close, attendees left with a renewed sense of admiration for the exceptional talent and dedication displayed by these outstanding student-athletes. The Hoss Bennett Awards continue to serve as a beacon of excellence, honoring Ronald Hoss Bennett’s legacy and inspiring future generations to strive for greatness both on and off the field.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here